A Classical Debut

The Twin KnightsThis week Vertical is proud to present the English language debut of Osamu Tezuka’s shojo classic, The Twin Knights. A sequel to the hit gender-bending work, Princess Knight, Twin Knights follows Sapphire as she is now the Queen of Silverland. And much like in her own manga debut, Sapphire’s children, in this case a set of twins, must overcome a series of fantastic almost fairy tale-like challenges to protect their realm.

While the themes may be quite familiar to readers of the original story, what will be completely new to Tezuka fans will be the look and overall aesthetic to The Twin Knights. Never before translated into English, Twin Knights was also never redone by Tezuka, giving readers an unaltered look at Tezuka’s take on shojo from the early days of the format. Originally penned in 1958 for the legendary shojo magazine Nakayoshi, Twin Knights reveals a lighter side of Tezuka, who is still developing his skills for visual storytelling while relying on timeless tropes such as slap-stick comedy, swash-buckling action, and teen romance.

So at a time when anything Tezuka seems fashionable The Twin Knights is a must-read that should charm its way into every true classical comic aficionado’s collections.

Edge Takes Shirley Jackson Award

EdgeVertical, Inc. would like to congratulate author Koji Suzuki as he was acknowledged with the 2012 Shirley Jackson Award yesterday for his novel Edge.

It has been ten years since Vertical entered the publishing world with Mr. Suzuki’s RING series, and to see Mr. Suzuki’s works still being accepted and recognized by the public and critics alike is a testament his mastery of the horror and thriller genres. We hope that with this award, even more readers will be introduced to Edge and Mr. Suzuki’s unique brand of quantum-horror.

Boston, MA (July 2013) — In recognition of the legacy of Shirley Jackson’s writing, and with permission of the author’s estate, The Shirley Jackson Awards, Inc. has been established for outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic.

The Shirley Jackson Awards are voted upon by a jury of professional writers, editors, critics, and academics, with input from a Board of Advisors. The awards are given for the best work published in the preceding calendar year in the following categories: Novel, Novella, Novelette, Short Story, Single-Author Collection, and Edited Anthology.
The 2012 Shirley Jackson Awards were presented on Sunday, July 14th at Readercon 24, Conference on Imaginative Literature, in Burlington, Massachusetts, hosted by Readercon 24 Guest of Honor, Maureen McHugh.

The winners for the 2012 Shirley Jackson Awards are:


Winner: Edge, Koji Suzuki (Vertical, Inc.)


  • The Drowning Girl, Caitlín R. Kiernan (ROC)
  • The Devil in Silver, Victor LaValle (Spiegel & Grau)
  • Gone Girl, Gillian Flynn (Crown Publishers)
  • Immobility, Brian Evenson (Tor)